Los Angeles, CA (June 12, 2024) – Varèse Sarabande and Craft Recordings announce the first-ever vinyl release for Michael Giacchino’s expanded Deluxe Edition score for J.J. Abrams’ Star Trek Into Darkness. The expanded Deluxe Edition version of composer Michael Giacchino’s score for the film arrives on vinyl as a 3-LP Blue, Red, and Yellow set themed after the iconic Starfleet uniforms. The collection comes housed in a premium slipcase with a Starfleet Insignia-shaped cut-out, allowing fans to pick their own cover image, and includes a 16-page booklet with behind-the-scenes photos from the set and notes from J.J. Abrams and Michael Giacchino. Releasing September 6th, and available for pre-order now, the 3-LP tricolor set (limited to 1,000 copies) will be available at retailers in North America, while a Translucent Clear set will be available for the rest of the world.

Into Darkness is the 12th installment in the Star Trek franchise and the sequel to the 2009 film Star Trek, as the second in a rebooted film series. The returning cast of Chris Pine, Zachary Quinto, Simon Pegg, Karl Urban, Zoe Saldana, John Cho, Anton Yelchin, Bruce Greenwood, and Leonard Nimoy reprised their roles from the previous film, joined by Benedict Cumberbatch as the legendary Star Trek villain Khan. Set in the 23rd century, the film follows Captain Kirk and the crew of U.S.S. Enterprise as they are sent to the Klingon home world seeking a former Starfleet member-turned-terrorist, John Harrison.

The film was a financial success and received positive reviews from critics. Its gross earnings of over $467 million worldwide made it the highest-grossing entry in the Star Trek franchise. The film was nominated for Best Visual Effects at the 86th Academy Awards. One of Giacchino’s main tasks with the film was to evolve the themes from the previous installment and create new ones to reflect the film’s darker tone. A specific example of this was during the composition of the track “London Calling.” “[Director J. J. Abrams] just wanted it to feel like we weren’t in a Star Trek movie,” Giacchino said. “It was a very conscious decision to make that base sound different; then, from there, we were able to evolve to our theme for the character. I remember when J. J. heard it, he said, ‘Oh, it sounds English. That’s perfect!'” The score is also notable for featuring orchestration that contains piano, the first Star Trek score to do so since Cliff Eidelman’s music for Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country (1991), as well as a choir singing entirely in the Klingon language (which appears on the track entitled “The Qo’noS Wartet”). The score also contains interpolations of the “Theme from Star Trek,” written by Alexander Courage.

Michael Giacchino’s (pronounced “Juh-key-no”) prolific output features some of the most popular and acclaimed projects in recent history, including The Incredibles, Coco, Jojo Rabbit, Ratatouille, Star Trek, Jurassic World, Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, Spider-Man: No Way Home, War for the Planet of the Apes and The Batman. His 2009 score for the Pixar hit Up earned Giacchino an Oscar®, a Golden Globe®, the BAFTA, the Broadcast Film Critics’ Choice Award and two GRAMMY® Awards. After almost 20 years of film scoring, Giacchino directed the very first Marvel special presentation, Werewolf by Night, in 2022.

Click here to pre-order Star Trek Into Darkness (Deluxe Edition)

Tracklist: Star Trek Into Darkness (Deluxe Edition)



  1. Logos / Pranking The Natives
  2. Spock Drops, Kirk Jumps
  3. Undersea Enterprises Inc.
  4. On The Bridge And On The Rocks
  5. Sub Prime Directive
  6. London Calling
  7. Demotion Emotion
  8. London Falling
  9. The Pride Of Iowa
  10. Astronomical Manhunt



  1. Man vs Blaster
  2. Meld-Merized
  3. Admiral Exposition
  4. Personal Space
  5. So Long Scotty
  6. Chief Concern / The Moral Mission
  7. Covert Carol
  8. Galactic Road Trip
  9. Torpedo Diplomacy
  10. Spock And Uhura
  11. Klingon Chase / Meeting



  1. Harrison Attack
  2. Harrison Brought Onboard
  3. Harjugal Visit
  4. Damage Control
  5. Scotty’s Floored
  6. Torpedo Tango
  7. Cryo Your Heart Out
  8. Harrison’s Heart / Enter The Vengeance
  9. Mom’s Calling
  10. You’re Not Safe At Warp
  11. Kirk’s Last Stand
  12. Guns Down



  1. Chair Of Command
  2. You Wanna Do What?
  3. Pull The Trigger
  4. Ship To Ship
  5. Hallway Fight
  6. Head Games
  7. I’m Gonna Make This Simple
  8. Human Popsicles
  9. Earthbound And Down
  10. Warp Core Values



  1. Max Thrusters
  2. Buying The Space Farm
  3. Go Get ’Em
  4. The San Fran Hustle
  5. Kirk Enterprises
  6. End Credits



  1. Ode To Harrison
  2. Ode To Vengeance

About Varèse Sarabande:

Varèse Sarabande is one of the leading and most prolific producers of film and television soundtracks. The label was formed as a merger between Varèse International Records (named for composer Edgar Varèse) and Sarabande Records (named after a musical dance form). Initially a classical label, Varèse Sarabande has released thousands of soundtracks and new recordings of classic film scores conducted by celebrated composers with the world’s best-known orchestras since 1977. The label upped the ante for fans by creating the Varèse Sarabande CD Club—releasing exclusive limited-edition deluxe soundtracks featuring rare and long-requested titles. The CD Club ran initially from 1989–92 and was restarted in 2001, and Varèse continues to create Deluxe Editions of cherished scores that might otherwise never see a release. Since joining Concord in 2018, Varèse Sarabande continues its mission to release new scores, high quality vinyl and Deluxe Edition soundtracks.

For more info, visit VareseSarabande.com and follow on Facebook, Xr, InstagramTikTok, and YouTube.

About Craft Recordings:

Craft Recordings is home to one of the largest and most essential collections of master recordings and compositions in the world. Its storied repertoire includes landmark releases from icons such as Joan Baez, John Coltrane, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Celia Cruz, Miles Davis, Isaac Hayes, John Lee Hooker, Little Richard, R.E.M., Joan Sebastian, and Traveling Wilburys. Plus, the catalog recordings of celebrated contemporary acts including A Day to Remember, Evanescence, Alison Krauss, Nine Inch Nails, Taking Back Sunday and Violent Femmes, to name just a few. Renowned imprints with catalogs issued under the Craft banner include Fania, Fantasy, Fearless, Musart, Nitro, Panart, Prestige, Riverside, Rounder, Specialty, Stax, Vanguard, Varèse Sarabande, Vee-Jay and Victory, among many others. Craft creates thoughtfully curated packages, with a meticulous devotion to quality and a commitment to preservation—ensuring that these recordings endure for new generations to discover. Craft is also home to the Billie Holiday and Tammy Wynette estates which preserve and protect their respective names, likeness and music through day-to-day legacy management of these cultural trailblazers.

Craft Recordings is the catalog label team for Concord. For more info, visit CraftRecordings.com and follow on Facebook, X, InstagramTikTok, and YouTube.


TM & © 2024 CBS Studios Inc. © 2024 Paramount Pictures Corp. STAR TREK and all related marks and logos are trademarks of CBS Studios Inc. All Rights Reserved.